West Coast Swing Addicts!

Fun people, great music! Beginners always welcome!

Pop, club, blues, R&B music.

Come out and experience the magic of
West Coast Swing dancing in Edmonton!

West Coast Swing is a fun, casual partner dance done to pop, club or blues music. It can be done fast or slow, and there are great opportunities for improvisation and working with the music.

First Timer, Beginner Tips:

  • Shoes: Wear something comfortable to move in. Avoid too high a heel, or heavy rubber soles.
  • Dress: Casual, comfortable. You’ll be moving a lot!
  • Lesson: Will be for beginners just like you. Most people will rotate and switch partners
    throughout the lesson. Great way to meet everyone!
  • Partner: Not required, but bring ’em if you’ve got ’em.

Other Regional West Coast Swing Events and Workshops:

WCSS Intervention VIII – Phil and Flore Berne. Saskatoon, SK, September 2020  More details.

 

Calgary Dance Stampede – 2020 – Calgary AB. calgarydancestampede.com

 

Swingcouver
January 2020 – Vancouver, BC – swingcouver.com

 

Extreme Swing – Calgary, AB
extremeswing.ca

 

WCSA Dance Event Details:

Admission: $10 / person. Bottled water available for $1.

Join our group on Facebook to hear about more dance opportunities and events!

Dances take place at Bonnie Doon Community Hall 9240 93 Street, Edmonton.


View Larger Map

Want to stay up to date? Join our Facebook group.

Or join our MeetUp Group.

Need some west coast swing music right now? http://www.radiowcs.com

More articles and tips form Myles and Tessa: https://www.canadianswingchampions.com/

Next Social Dance:
Friday, December 6 

Join us Friday at 8 pm for a fun get-you-started lesson, and stay for hot tunes and open dancing!

$10 at the door – Water or Pop $1 

Bonnie Doon Hall  9240 93 Street NW

All welcome! Even kids!

2019 WCSA Dances

All dances take place at Bonnie Doon Hall, 9240 93 Street
  • Friday, December 6
  • Friday, December 20 – Christmas Dance

2020 WCSA Dances

  • Friday, January 17
  • Friday, February 7
  • Friday, February 28
  • Friday, March 13
  • Friday, March 27
  • Friday, April 17
  • Friday, May 8
  • Friday, May 22
  • Friday, June 5
  • Friday, June 19
  • Friday, July 10
  • Friday, July 24
  • Friday, August 14
  • Friday, August 28
  • Friday, September 11
  • Friday, September 25
  • Friday, October 16
  • Friday, November 6
  • Friday, November 20
  • Friday, December 4
  • Friday, December 18
 

Upcoming Dances with the University of Alberta WCS Dancers, Fall 2018

Pay by donation. New Location: Students’ Union Building on the U of A campus.

More info: http://www.uawcs.ca!
 
 
 

Have a question? Contact us!

Jen and Alpha Swung into Edmonton

Wow what a weekend! Thank you to Jen Malcolm and Alpha Vo for 6 fantastic workshops, to Earl for bringing lights and sound, Nicole for doing pro hospitality, our committee of event volunteers from Edson and Addicts – and everyone from near and far who spent their weekend with us!

Read More »

Lead or Follow: You can do both!

West Coast Swing Addicts Dance Society supports the idea that dance roles (lead and follow) do not need to be tied to gender. Men can follow, women can lead. As well, its totally OK for the same gender to dance with each other: men to dance with men and women

Read More »

Proud Sponsors of 2019’s Calgary Dance Stampede

West Coast Swing Addicts was proud to be one of the sponsors of the 2019 Calgary Dance Stampede! Along with West Coast Swing Calgary, our contribution made it so the west coast swing Jack and Jill competitors were free for competitors. Its was a big year for CDS, where they

Read More »